Boulder County


Who We Are
The Boulder County Hazmat Authority was officially formed in October of 2017. The Authority is comprised of the 11 DERA’s located within Boulder County. All of the DERA’s contribute to the funding of the Authority while 5 agencies also contribute personnel and equipment.

Those agencies are the Boulder Fire Department, Longmont Fire Department, Mnt View Fire Protection District, Lafayette Fire Department, Louisville Fire Protection District and the Boulder Rural Fire Protection District

The Boulder County Hazmat Authority is a Type 1 Hazmat Team and has First Response vehicles located in Boulder, Longmont, Lafayette and Dacono, with personnel available to respond 24/7/365. The Authority has 85 Hazmat Technicians as members of the Team.

We are overseen by a five member Board of Directors represented by Mnt View Fire, Longmont Fire, Boulder Fire, Lafayette Fire and the Boulder County Sheriff’s office.

Under the Board, the Operations side is run by an Advisory Committee with representatives from Longmont Fire, Boulder Fire, Mnt View Fire, Lafayette Fire, Louisville Fire, Boulder Rural Fire and the Sheriff’s Office.